Camaro receives design award

AutoTrader NZ
Published 3 September 2020

The Chevrolet Camaro was declared the 2010 World Car Design of the Year at the New York International Auto Show recently.

The World Car Design of the Year award highlights new vehicles with innovation and style that push established boundaries. Thirty candidates were nominated for this award by 59 World Car jurors from around the world.

The experts said: “The new Camaro leans on its heritage but does so in an artful, modern fashion. Although it borrows some of its styling cues from the first generation Camaro, they all contribute to a simple, pure and modern appearance. It is the most dynamic Camaro ever.”

One of the judges said the “innately seductive exterior and interior. It’s well resolved and I’d argue evidence that General Motors strikes a better balance than Ford and Chrysler do in their pony cars.”

The final three contenders for 2010 World Car Design of the Year were the Chevrolet Camaro, the Citroen C3 Picasso, and the Kia Soul.

Previous winners of the World Car Design of the Year award were the Fiat 500 in 2009, the Audi R8 in 2008, the Audi TT in 2007 and the Citroen C4 in 2006.

Holden was responsible for developing the American muscle car from the same large rear-drive platform seen in the VE Commodore, as well as transforming GM’s original Camaro concept into the final production car.

Read more about the Chevrolet Camaro here.

See the Chevrolet Camaro for sale here.