Knight clinches TRS championship

AutoTrader NZ
Published 3 September 2020

Andy Knight clinched the 2007/2008 Toyota Racing Series crown by finishing second behind Michael Burdett in the series’ finale at Teretonga Park, Invercargill, this afternoon.

His chief rival Earl Bamber, who went into the race 16 points adrift, turned in a brilliant performance to finish third after starting at the back of the grid.

Bamber was on the back foot all weekend after his pole time for Race 1 was disallowed because it had been set during a yellow flag caution period.

Mechanical problems kept him from posting a good qualifying time for Race 2 (in fact he was the slowest qualifier).

The Race 3 grid is formed by adding together the times from the first two qualifying periods, which saw Bamber forced to start from the back of the grid.

Sam MacNeill, Mitch Cunningham and Dominic Storey completed the top six in the final race.

In other championships decided today, John Whelan took the Formula Ford crown; Brent Collins prevailed in the Mini Challenge; Craig Baird won the Porsche GT3 Cup; and in the Production Car Series, Cody McMaster won the Suzuki section, Dale Williams the 2WD class in his Mazda3 MPS, and Simon Sceats the 4WD section in his Subaru Impreza WRX STi.