McIntyre scores runaway win

AutoTrader NZ
Published 3 September 2020

Series leader and reigning champion John McIntyre drove to an absolutely dominant victory in today’s largely processional NZ V8s race at Timaru.

The Nelson-based BP Ultimate Ford Falcon driver won the rolling start to head Race 1 winner Andy Booth (Big Ben Pies Holden Commodore) into the first corner.

Kayne Scott (Fujitsu Falcon) retained his third place starting position, holding off Paul Radisich (HPC Falcon) and Angus Fogg (Caltex Havoline Ford).

And that’s pretty much the way it stayed for the entire 18-lap distance.

The only change at the head of the field was Scott’s retirement during lap three.

Initially Booth hung on to McIntyre but gradually began falling back. Fogg kept feinting at Radisich but couldn’t find a way past.

McIntyre began stretching the gap, edging it to more than four seconds, then five, then six, and at the chequer it was 7.4 seconds.

Booth finished second, Radisich third, Fogg fourth.

Australian David Besnard (Falcon) came home fifth after stalking Andrew Anderson’s Pinepac/ITM Commodore for several laps.

Anderson completed the top six, followed by Tim Edgell (Chesters Falcon), Clark Proctor (Metalman Ford), Andrew Porter (Falcon) and Mike Wallace (Holden Commodore).

McIntyre’s dominant win has increased his series points lead over McIntyre to 113.