NZ Car of the Year shortlist announced

AutoTrader NZ
Published 3 September 2020

The cars on the 2010 shortlist are:

The finalists have been selected from all new models launched in New Zealand during the 12 months prior to 1 November 2009.

Members of the New Zealand Motoring Writer’s Guild will vote for their pick after putting the vehicles through a series of tests on roads throughout the country.

As well as its performance and handling, the car’s suitability for the task for which it was designed, its value for money, ease of operation, fuel economy, and build quality, along with its level of home comforts and safety accoutrements, and even how good it looks, will be considered.

Every car is scored out of 100 be each voter.

The current holder of the New Zealand Car of the Year Award is the Ford Fiesta. Previous winners include the latest Mazda 2, Porsche Cayman, Ford Falcon, Mazda MX-5 and Mercedes-Benz C-Class, and previous-generations of the Honda Accord Euro and Ford Mondeo.