Rally Gisborne – 25-26 August

AutoTrader NZ
Published 3 September 2020

Fast facts:

* Comprises 12 special stages, some of which were once used in the World Rally Championship event – Rally New Zealand.

* Total of 295.03km competitive distance.

* The shortest stage is 19.09km (Cool Tech – Ruakaka) and the longest 38.94km (Mini Tankers – Wharekopae)

* Starts and finishes from Reads Quay, Gisborne.

* Following a ceremonial start on the Friday evening, the first car departs 7am Saturday morning for seven special stages, before returning for an overnight secure park. They then leave 7:30am Sunday morning for the remaining five stages.

* The finish ceremony is due to start at 4:15pm.

* Weather will play a big role, with some roads likely to be very slippery if it’s wet given the absence of surface gravel.

* Sunday’s five special stages have not been used for more than ten years – making them new for most drivers in the field

* The final stage (Waimata Valley – 23.59km) will be the Power Stage where the fastest three cars earn additional championship points (three for fastest, two for second, one for third).

* Overall championship leader is Richard Mason (Masterton) on 138 points, Emma Gilmour (Dunedin) is second on 100 points with Matt Jansen (Christchurch) third on 75.

Full championship standings can be found: http://www.chrissport.co.nz/points/2012/nzrcpoints.htm

* Additional championship categories include Group N 2WD (led by Ben Hunt, Nelson), Open Class 4WD (led by Matt Summerfield, Rangiora), Open Class 2WD (led by David Holder, Tauranga), Historic Challenge Trophy Championship (led by Marcus van Klink, Kaiapoi), Junior rally champion (led by Matt Jansen), Rookie driver (led by David Holder) and the Manufacturers Trophy (led by Subaru)

* Currently there are 50 teams entered.

* The rally is also the third round of the Top Half Rally Series and the fourth and final round of the Geartech Central Region Rally Series.

* The event is organised by Rally of New Zealand, who ran this year’s Brother International Rally of Whangarei and New Zealand’s round of the World Rally Championship – Brother Rally New Zealand.

Further information on the event can be found on http://www.rallynz.org.nz/rally-gisborne