Rollinson gives Mazda outright victory

AutoTrader NZ
Published 3 September 2020

Gene Rollinson turned in a solid drive to win the third Suzuki Production Racing Series heat in the works Mazda MP3 front-wheel drive turbocar at Taupo today.

Rollinson worked his way to the front of the 2WD class, then hunted down the Suzuki Swift runners and surged into a lead that grew to around 19 seconds.

Brady Kennett chased hard in the closing laps, trying to get his 4WD class Mitsubishi Lancer Evo 9 in a position to challenge Rollinson but was himself caught and passed by the similarly-mounted Zane Coppins.

Kennett finished third, and Marc Spring won the Suzuki section.

In earlier races in the category, Simon Sceats (Subaru Impreza WRX STi) and Kennett won the 4WD class.

Rollinson won the 2WD class in both, with reigning champion Cody McMaster took the Suzuki Swift section both times.

Three categories start in individual groups, the Suzukis first, then the 2WDs and last the 4WDs.