Van Gisbergen best Kiwi qualifier in Perth

AutoTrader NZ
Published 3 September 2020

Shane Van Gisbergen has qualified best of the Kiwis for today’s first Australian V8 Supercar race at Perth’s Barbagallo Raceway.

The Stone Brothers Ford Falcon driver is 10th on the grid, one place ahead of fellow New Zealander Jason Richards’ Tasman Motorsport Holden Commodore.

Richards’ teammate Greg Murphy has qualified 16th, and Fabian Coulthard has gridded the Glenfords Falcon 23rd.

Kayne Scott will start last car on the grid in the battling Team Kiwi racing Falcon. Scott was more than two seconds off the pole time.

Ford’s Mark Winterbottom will start from pole with Holden racing Team’s Mark Skaife and Garth Tander next.

Van Gisbergen’s lap of 56.9660s compares with Winterbottom’s 56.4362s pole time.

NZ-born Steven Richards will start his FPR Falcon sixth, one place behind Van Gisbergen’s teammate James Courtney.